how an insomniac falls in love 

heaven was 

7am sunlight pouring through half closed-blinds 

bodies tangled between waves of bed sheets 

your sleepy “i love yous” pressed gently against my neck 

the humming of your heart beat synchronized to the rhythm of my breathing 

my fingers tracing each vertebrae of the arch of your back for hours on end 

your hands cradling my face, i felt so vulnerable– i loved the way you held me in place 

hell is

having to remember 

…not being able to forget 

One thought on “how an insomniac falls in love 

Leave a Reply

